Logo LVR-Landesmuseum BonnLogo LVR

1945 – Cologne and Dresden

1945 - Cologne and Dresden

19 March - 7 June 2015

Photographs by Hermann Claasen and Richard Peter in Cooperation with Deutsche Fotothek Dresden and Stiftung F.C. Gundlach Hamburg

Even today these two books of photographs influence our perception of the World War II destruction of German cities: Hermann Claasen's (1899–1987) Gesang im Feuerofen (Song in the Fiery Furnace) from 1947 shows us Cologne in ruins, Richard Peter's (1895–1977) book Dresden, eine Kamera klagt an (a camera makes accusations), published for the first time in 1950, was the most successful photography book in the GDR, having been reprinted many times.

This exhibition shows not only the vintage prints for these two books, it also reconstructs the history of both books' origins and above all, places their respective first publication in a specific historical context: In this way it becomes clear that although both books deal with the horrors of World War II, they each approach this topic from completely different perspectives. Hermann Claasen's work shows almost exclusively the ruins of Cologne churches from a Catholic-Rhenish point of view. In contrast to this, Richard Peter's book, completely in keeping with cold war politics, accuses both Hitler Germany and Anglo-American imperialism.

Such a critical historical analysis of these two works has been made possible through the cooperation of our exhibition partners: All three institutions not only dispose over important photograph collections, they also harbor extensive archive material on the respective photographers that provides a basis for in-depth research. This show marks the launch of an annual exhibition series from the respective holdings of the cooperating partners. An accompanying publication in the form of an archive cassette box will appear in an edition of 500. An exclusive, limited edition of 50 is available containing an additional two prints made by hand from the original negatives of both photographers.

With the generous support of Kunststiftung NRW.

More information here: Deutsche Fotothek, Stiftung F.C. Gundlach and Stadtmuseum Dresden.


LVR-LandesMuseum Bonn, Colmantstr. 14-16, 53115 Bonn

Tel. +49 (0) 228 / 2070 - 0, Fax +49 (0) 228 / 2070 - 299

Opening Hours Museum

TUE - FRI, SON 11 a.m. - 6 p.m., SAT 1 p.m. - 6 p.m., MON closed

Guided tours for school groups available from 10 a.m.

Opening Hours Library

MON - FRI 8 a.m. - 4 p.m.

Logo LVR-Landesmuseum BonnLogo LVR

1945 – Köln und Dresden

19. März – 7. Juni 2015

Fotografien von Hermann Claasen und Richard Peter
In Kooperation mit der Deutschen Fotothek Dresden und der Stiftung F.C. Gundlach Hamburg

Zwei Fotobücher prägen bis heute unsere Wahrnehmung der zerstörten deutschen Städte des Zweiten Weltkriegs: Hermann Claasens (1899–1987) "Gesang im Feuerofen" von 1947 zeigt das zerstörte Köln, Richard Peters (1895–1977) Buch "Dresden, eine Kamera klagt an", 1950 erstmals erschienen, war mit seinen zahlreichen Neuauflagen das erfolgreichste Fotobuch der DDR.

Die Ausstellung zeigt nicht nur die den beiden Büchern zugrunde liegenden Vintage-Prints, sondern rekonstruiert auch die Entstehungsgeschichte beider Bücher und stellt sie vor allem in den historischen Kontext der Erstpublikation. So wird deutlich, dass sich beide Bücher von jeweils ganz unterschiedlicher Perspektive mit dem Schrecken des Zweiten Weltkriegs auseinander setzen. Hermann Claasens Buch zeigt fast ausschließlich Trümmer von Kölner Kirchen aus katholisch-rheinischer Sicht. Demgegenüber klagt Richard Peters Buch ganz im Sinne der Politik des kalten Krieges sowohl Hitlerdeutschland als auch den angloamerikanischen Imperialismus an.

Möglich wird eine solche historische Hinterfragung beider Bücher durch die Ausstellungspartner: Alle drei Institutionen verfügen nicht nur über bedeutende Fotosammlungen, sondern bewahren auch umfangreiches Archivmaterial zu den jeweiligen Fotografen als Grundlage einer vertiefenden Erforschung auf. Die Schau begründet eine jährliche Ausstellungsreihe der Kooperationspartner aus den jeweiligen Archivbeständen. Es erscheint eine Begleitpublikation in Form einer Archivbox in einer Auflage von 500 Exemplaren. 50 Vorzugsexemplare enthalten zusätzlich zwei Handabzüge von Originalnegativen beider Fotografen.

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Kunststiftung NRW

Weitere Informationen zur Deutschen Fotothek, Stiftung F.C. Gundlach und dem Stadtmuseum Dresden.

 

 WDR 3 Sendung Mosaik 18.3.15: Beitrag "Zerstörte Träume: Köln und Dresden nach dem 2. Weltkrieg" von Berit Hempel

 WDR 5 Sendung Scala 18.3.15: Beitrag "1945 - Köln und Dresden. Zwei Städte in der Nachkriegszeit" von Veronika Bock


Kontakt

LVR-LandesMuseum Bonn, Colmantstr. 14-16, 53115 Bonn

Tel. +49 (0) 228 / 2070 - 0, Fax +49 (0) 228 / 2070 - 299

Öffnungszeiten Museum

DI bis FR, SO und Feiertag 11 - 18,

SA 13 - 18 Uhr, MO geschlossen

Gruppenführungen für Schulklassen ab 10 Uhr möglich

Öffnungszeiten Bibliothek

MO bis FR 8 - 16 Uhr