Logo LVR-Landesmuseum BonnLogo LVR

Large Roman Bronzes

UNESCO-World Heritage Limes

Roman statues in bronze had once been set up in large numbers also along the northwest borders of the Imperium Romanum in the military forts and civilian settlements as well as in sacred places. In a research project sponsored by the Volkswagen Foundation, what is left of them is now being evaluated systematically for the very first time.

Interdisciplinary Research Approach

Of the more than 4,000 fragments known to date, which have been entered into a data base, each and every object throws open an entire range of exciting questions. Who or what has been portrayed here? Where (in what environment) did the bronze statue stand? How were the statues made? How and why were they destroyed? In order to find answers to these questions, state of the art scientific analysis is currently under way.

Network Competency

A large number of museums, universities, and specialized research institutes have become involved in the project. In spring of 2014, the results will be introduced to the broader public in an exhibition at the LVR-LandesMuseum Bonn.

Click here for more information:



LVR-LandesMuseum Bonn, Colmantstr. 14-16, 53115 Bonn

Tel. +49 (0) 228 / 2070 - 0, Fax +49 (0) 228 / 2070 - 299

Opening Hours Museum

TUE - FRI, SON 11 a.m. - 6 p.m., SAT 1 p.m. - 6 p.m., MON closed

Guided tours for school groups available from 10 a.m.

Opening Hours Library

MON - FRI 8 a.m. - 4 p.m.

Logo LVR-Landesmuseum BonnLogo LVR

Römische Großbronzen

UNESCO-Welterbe Limes

Römische Bronzestatuen wurden auch an den Nordwestgrenzen des Imperium Romanum in großer Zahl in den Militärlagern und Zivilsiedlungen sowie in den Heiligtümern aufgestellt. In einem von der VolkswagenStiftung geförderten Forschungsprojekt werden ihre Überreste nun erstmals systematisch ausgewertet.

Interdisziplinärer Forschungsansatz

Von den bisher über 4000 bekannten und in einer Datenbank erfassten Fragmenten eröffnet jedes einzelne Objekt ein ganzes Spektrum spannender Fragen. Wer oder was wurde dargestellt? Wo (in welchem Wirkungsraum) stand die Bronzestatue? Wie wurden die Statuen hergestellt? Wie und warum wurden sie zerstört? Um Antworten zu finden, werden auch modernste naturwissenschaftliche Analyseverfahren eingesetzt.

Vernetzte Kompetenz

Eine große Anzahl von Museen, Universitäten und spezialisierten Forschungsinstituten sind in das Projekt eingebunden. Im Frühjahr 2014 werden im Rahmen einer Ausstellung im LVR-LandesMuseum Bonn die Ergebnisse der breiten Öffentlichkeit präsentiert.

Weitere Informationen

www.grossbronzenamlimes.de


Kontakt

LVR-LandesMuseum Bonn, Colmantstr. 14-16, 53115 Bonn

Tel. +49 (0) 228 / 2070 - 0, Fax +49 (0) 228 / 2070 - 299

Öffnungszeiten Museum

DI bis FR, SO und Feiertag 11 - 18,

SA 13 - 18 Uhr, MO geschlossen

Gruppenführungen für Schulklassen ab 10 Uhr möglich

Öffnungszeiten Bibliothek

MO bis FR 8 - 16 Uhr