Logo LVR-Landesmuseum BonnLogo LVR

Early Medieval Gemstone Jewelry

Since 1 January 2014, the LVR-LandesMuseum Bonn has been a cooperative partner with the Römisch-Germanisches Zentralmuseum in Mainz in the Europe-wide research project sponsored by the Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (Federal Ministry of Education and Research) called "Worldwide Cellular Network – Radical changes in the cultural significance of early medieval gemstone jewelry before the backdrop of economical history, as well as the transfer of ideas and technology".

The project deals with the origins, crafting, and trade of almandines, a type of garnet that was very popular and widespread as an inlay in jewelry, weapons, and belts made of precious metals during Merovingian times (end 5th century - 7th century). Thousands of findings have been discovered during archaeological excavations in the Rhineland, above all, as burial objects. The combination of the blood-red stone with the shiny gold metal setting represents one of the most striking stylistic elements in the aesthetics and the artisan craftwork of this time.

The project unites various scientific and antique archaeological analyses of the material. In doing this, the northern Rhineland is to be researched as a model region for the origin, crafting, and distribution of this object traded far and wide, as well as issues concerning the local and regional conditions for the availability of the almandines.

First, in the workshops at the LVR-LandesMuseums Bonn, x-ray technological and microscopic analyses will be conducted to determine the crafting and quality of the pieces, which above all will look into questions about specific workshop groups.

Extensive x-ray fluorescence analyses at the Römisch-Germanisches Zentralmuseum in Mainz will provide data concerning the chemical make-up of the stones. Thus, the path these stones have taken may be traced from the graves in the Rhineland back to the mineral deposits where they were mined.

Beginning in the second half of the 6th century, in many cases this semi-precious gem was replaced with other materials, mainly coloured glass. The scope, date in time, and way these materials were crafted are all being researched. The focal point in doing all of this is also the large, precious gold disc fibulae clasps from the 7th century, which are often elaborately decorated with coloured glass stones. Here the question arises concerning the continuity in the treatment of the material, the workshops, and the trade routes.


Contact

LVR-LandesMuseum Bonn, Colmantstr. 14-16, 53115 Bonn

Tel. +49 (0) 228 / 2070 - 0, Fax +49 (0) 228 / 2070 - 299

Opening Hours Museum

TUE - FRI, SON 11 a.m. - 6 p.m., SAT 1 p.m. - 6 p.m., MON closed

Guided tours for school groups available from 10 a.m.

Opening Hours Library

MON - FRI 8 a.m. - 4 p.m.

Logo LVR-Landesmuseum BonnLogo LVR

Weltweites Zellwerk

Frühmittelalterlicher Edelsteinschmuck

Seit dem 1. Januar 2014 ist das LVR-LandesMuseum Bonn Kooperationspartner des Römisch-Germanischen Zentralmuseums Mainz in dem europaweiten, vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung geförderten Forschungsprojekt "Weltweites Zellwerk – Umbrüche in der kulturellen Bedeutung frühmittelalterlichen Edelsteinschmucks vor dem Hintergrund von Wirtschaftsgeschichte sowie Ideen- und Technologietransfer".

Das Projekt beschäftigt sich mit Herkunft, Verarbeitung und Handel von Almandinen, einer Granatart, die in der Merowingerzeit (Ende 5.-7. Jahrhundert n. Chr.) als Einlage in Schmuck, Waffen- und Gürtelbeschlägen aus Edelmetall äußerst beliebt und weit verbreitet war. Tausende von Funden sind im Rheinland vor allem als Grabbeigaben bei archäologischen Grabungen entdeckt worden. Die Kombination der blutroten Steine mit den goldglänzenden Metallfassungen stellt eines der auffallendsten Stilelemente in der Ästhetik und dem Kunsthandwerk dieser Zeit dar.

Das Projekt vereint verschiedene naturwissenschaftliche und antiquarisch-archäologische Analysen des Materials. Dabei soll das nördliche Rheinland als Modellregion für die Herkunft, Verarbeitung und Verbreitung dieses Fernhandelsgutes sowie für Fragen nach den regionalen und lokalen Bedingungen für die Verfügbarkeit von Almandinen untersucht werden.

Am Beginn stehen in den Werkstätten des LVR-LandesMuseums Bonn röntgentechnische und mikroskopische Analysen zur Verarbeitungstechnik und Qualität der Stücke, die vor allem Fragen nach spezifischen Werkstattgruppen nachgehen.

Umfangreiche Röntgenfluoreszensanalysen am Römisch-Germanischen Zentralmuseum in Mainz liefern Daten zur chemischen Zusammensetzung der Steine. Somit kann der Weg dieser Stücke von den Gräbern im Rheinland zurück zu den Lagerstätten und Abbaugebieten verfolgt werden.

Ab der zweiten Hälfte des 6. Jahrhunderts wurden der Halbedelstein in vielen Fällen durch andere Materialien, vor allem gefärbtes Glas, ersetzt. Umfang, Zeitpunkt und Verarbeitungweise dieser Materialien werden untersucht. Im Fokus stehen dabei auch die großen, kostbaren Goldscheibenfibeln des 7. Jahrhunderts, die aufwendig vielfach mit bunten Glassteinen verziert wurden. Hier stellt sich die Frage nach Kontinuitäten in der Materialverarbeitung, den Werkstätten und den Handelswegen.

 

Weiterführende Links:

Römisch-Germanisches-Zentralmuseum Mainz - Projektseite

Projektblog zum Weltweiten Zellwerk


Kontakt

LVR-LandesMuseum Bonn, Colmantstr. 14-16, 53115 Bonn

Tel. +49 (0) 228 / 2070 - 0, Fax +49 (0) 228 / 2070 - 299

Öffnungszeiten Museum

DI bis FR, SO und Feiertag 11 - 18,

SA 13 - 18 Uhr, MO geschlossen

Gruppenführungen für Schulklassen ab 10 Uhr möglich

Öffnungszeiten Bibliothek

MO bis FR 8 - 16 Uhr