Logo LVR-Landesmuseum BonnLogo LVR

The Depot

In its rooms, the LVR-LandesMuseum Bonn displays around 2500 exhibition objects, a very small percentage of its collection holdings. The majority of its holdings with their huge quantities of findings from archaeological excavations in the Rhineland and its art historical collections are stored in various depot rooms in Bonn and Meckenheim.

Collecting, preserving, and preparing findings for exhibitions are all part of the fundamental museum tasks. Students working on their Master's degree or writing their dissertations, and researchers make intensive use of the working possibilities at the museum. Together with a depot worker, they assemble the material they want to work on. Thus, the depot is a place of active and intensive research all the way up to scientific publication.

The depot will also remain open for research to subsequent generations, who will be able to look at the findings stored here today with new questions in mind, and thus, coax out interesting new things.


LVR-LandesMuseum Bonn, Colmantstr. 14-16, 53115 Bonn

Tel. +49 (0) 228 / 2070 - 0, Fax +49 (0) 228 / 2070 - 299

Opening Hours Museum

TUE - FRI, SON 11 a.m. - 6 p.m., SAT 1 p.m. - 6 p.m., MON closed

Guided tours for school groups available from 10 a.m.

Opening Hours Library

MON - FRI 8 a.m. - 4 p.m.

Logo LVR-Landesmuseum BonnLogo LVR

Das Depot

Das LVR-LandesMuseum Bonn zeigt in seinen Räumen mit etwa 2500 Ausstellungsobjekten den zahlenmäßig geringsten Teil seiner Sammlungsbestände. Der überwiegende Bestand mit seinen gewaltigen Mengen an Funden aus archäologischen Ausgrabungen im Rheinland und seinen kunstgeschichtlichen Sammlungen lagert in den verschiedenen Depoträumen in Bonn und Meckenheim.

Sammeln und Bewahren und die Bearbeitung der Funde für Ausstellungen gehören zu den grundsätzlichen Aufgaben des Museums. Masterkandidaten, Promovierende und Forscher nutzen die Arbeitsmöglichkeiten intensiv. Gemeinsam mit einem Depotmitarbeiter stellen sie anschließend das gewünschte Material für die Bearbeitung zusammen. So ist das Depot Ort aktiver und intensiver Forschung bis hin zur wissenschaftlichen Publikation.

Offen für Forschungen wird das Depot auch für nachfolgende Generationen bleiben, die den heute dort aufbewahrten Fundstücken und ihrer Bedeutung mit neuen Fragestellungen Interessantes zu entlocken vermögen.

Hinweis:

Vom 17.7. bis zum 13.8.2017 ist das Depot geschlossen. Anfragen können erst danach wieder beantwortet werden.


Kontakt

LVR-LandesMuseum Bonn, Colmantstr. 14-16, 53115 Bonn

Tel. +49 (0) 228 / 2070 - 0, Fax +49 (0) 228 / 2070 - 299

Öffnungszeiten Museum

DI bis SO und Feiertag 11 - 18 Uhr,

MO geschlossen

Gruppenführungen für Schulklassen ab 10 Uhr möglich

Öffnungszeiten Bibliothek

MO bis FR 8 - 16 Uhr

MI 8 - 18 Uhr